NAILED!

on

“MY sin, oh the bliss of this glorious thought, my sin, not in part but the whole, is nailed to the cross and I bear it no more–Praise the Lord, Praise the Lord oh my soul! Lord haste the day when my faith shall be sight, the clouds be rolled back as a scroll. The trump shall resound and the Lord shall descend, even so, it is well with my soul.”  From the hymn, It Is Well With My Soul

Think of it, my sins nailed to the cross. Not like today’s sloppy, corner-cutting, slap-them-up-builders, but by God’s majestic, mighty, carefully crafted, eternal hand. Nailed to the cross and I bear it (them) no more. NO MORE. Bring those unbelieving thoughts captive. We are worthy–just as we are. Warts and all. But wait, as I believed, those warts mysteriously blended into my skin. No longer visible.

“Be holy,” He said. “Just as I am Holy. Feel my grip? I will never let you go. No matter what it seems like to you. Reject those lying thoughts. Come close. Snuggle. I am your Abba Father. It is personal. I LOVE YOU. I am perfect, and now I’ve made you perfect. PERFECT.”

Cupping my face tenderly in His hands, He reminded me, “This vaporous life that remains but a moment, is but a blink in eternity. I’ve given everything for you. For your eternal welfare. And now I want you to give everything for me. Because, truly, we are forever bound together. Remember how you helped your little children learn to trust in you? That’s what I want from you. Trust me. Bring all your fears, pain, heartache, and unbelief to me. Lay them right here on this pile, the one beside my cross. That’s it. And now I want you to believe that those burdens are mine, forever. The tears you see running down my face were yours. The mystery of your broken heart saddens my pulsating heart. I’ve taken all those sorrows and guilt. They are mine. Don’t ask for them back. I love you so much.”

Extending His hand toward me, He said, “Here, touch the wounds, feel the holes!” As my tears gushed forth, Jesus held me close and whispered, “I did it for you. I did it once, such a horrible death, but now you are free from all earth’s bonds and sins.” Now slipping his arms over my shoulders, He said, “Come, lets walk through your life together. And every care and worry and fear you feel–give them to me when you pray. In return I will give you a peace so incredible, so impossible that you simply can’t understand it. But I promise you it will be so.”

Now firmly holding my shoulders, He looked squarely into my eyes, “You are a new creation. All the old things have passed away. All things are new.” Turning away, He paused and turned back. “Now, I want you to share this Good News, our love, with everyone. And one thing more, just as I have forgiven you, it is EXTREMELY important that you extend that same forgiveness to EVERYONE. The deserving and undeserving. If you don’t, our perfect relationship will be damaged. You’ll understand someday.” He smiled and my body was filled with wholeness and peace.

One Comment Add yours

  1. daisyandthefox says:

    this is lovely – about forgiveness 🙂
    how great to here encouraging words from a fellow Christian!

    Like

Leave a Reply

