Bible Study, Christianity, faith, God, inspiration, Jesus

MY LIFE VIEW

Don’t you see how wonderfully kind, tolerant, and patient God is with you? Rom. 2:4

 

            Is the Bible my life guide? Does everyday life dominate my spiritual life? Do I see the Bible as The Book of Truth or a book that has truth? Is Christianity my religious view or my life?

            Do I consider the various elements of my Christianity as good ideas or are they the building blocks of my life—my total life view?

            Am I willing to say, “The Bible says. . .” and truly believe it as absolute Truth? Is my Christianity of paramount importance to me, or is it an interesting series of stories, tales, commandments and feel-good ideas?

            Have I come to a place where I believe God has provided all the answers to my life’s challenges and problems? Do I believe God hears and answers my prayers even though, at times, I cannot see the evidence?

            Do I secretly desire God to “bless me” with earthly treasure? Am I afraid God will punish me when I do something wrong?

            Have I decided that living my life according to the Bible is the most important choice I have ever made? Do I really believe that God’s Words are divinely inspired—given through the Holy Spirit—able to change me, heal me, guide me, and inspire me with hope, peace, satisfaction and eternal life? Or do I have doubts and prefer to blend my spiritual life with the world to avoid conflict and possible embarrassment. Do I love Jesus Christ with all my heart and soul or do I simply have “fire insurance?”

  • Proverbs 3:5-7  Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek His will in all you do and He will show you which path to take. Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead fear the Lord and turn away from evil.
  • Proverbs 16:3  Commit your actions to the Lord, and your plans will succeed.
  • 2 Timothy 3:16-17  All Scripture is inspired by God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives. It corrects us when we are wrong and teaches us to do what is right. 17God uses it to prepare and equip his people to do every good work.
  • Mark 8:34-38   Then, calling the crowd to join his disciples, he said, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. 35If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it. 36And what do you benefit if you gain the whole world but lose your own soul? 37Is anything worth more than your soul? 38If anyone is ashamed of me and my message in these adulterous and sinful days, the Son of Man will be ashamed of that person when he returns in the glory of his Father with the holy angels.”
  • Romans 1:16-17  I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God that brings salvation to everyone who believes: first to the Jew, then to the Gentile. 17For in the gospel the righteousness of God is revealed—a righteousness that is by faith from first to last,  just as it is written: “The righteous will live by faith.”
  • 1 Corinthians 1:18  For to those who are perishing the message of the cross is foolishness, but to us who are being saved it is God’s power.
  • 1 Corinthians 2:14  Whoever does not have the Spirit cannot receive the gifts that come from God’s Spirit. Such a person really does not understand them, and they seem to be nonsense, because their value can be judged only on a spiritual basis.
  • Philippians 1:27  Just one thing: live your life in a manner worthy of the gospel of Christ.
  • Philippians 3:13-14  I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.

 

Believing that Jesus Christ is the Savior of mankind has the potential to change my life dramatically. For that change to take place, I must focus on living according to His words more than I focus on anything else in my life. 

Leave a Reply

