The Power of Our Minds

Image

“What he thinks is what he really is.”  Prov. 23:7

 

            “What’s on your mind?” Stan asked his good friend Evan. “You seem preoccupied.”

            “Funny you should ask,” Evan replied, stirring his coffee. “Lots of things are spinning around in my mind and some of them I am not happy with.”

            “Can you share?”

            Evan looked at his friend and decided to be honest…fully honest. “I think of how much better my life would be if I had not been passed over for promotion. And that leads me to think of how I’d like to tell my boss just what I think about that. Sometimes I actually imagine grabbing him by the shirt and yelling in his face. Stupid huh?”

            “No. Not stupid. Honest. Have you ever told anyone your true feelings about this before?” asked Stan.

            “Actually I haven’t and it feels good to get it out there. Now that I hear myself saying it, I realize how wrong it is and the word forgive pops into my mind. I’ve spent a lot of wasted time being secretly angry and bitter over what I thought I should get instead of taking my feelings to the Lord and giving Him the burden.”

            “Praise God, Evan. But don’t feel like the Lone Ranger. I spent several years being angry with Pastor Tim because I didn’t get selected to be an Elder. Since he and I don’t always see eye to eye, I knew he was behind it. And then one day over coffee, Tim told me he voted for me in every case but it seemed as though God was preventing my name from being selected. That shocked me and took me to my knees, asking God to forgive me. The power of the mind is staggering, Evan. And the power of forgiveness is even more powerful.”

            What do you “think”? Are you building a secret thought life that gives you the pleasure and gratitude you “think” you deserve? Are you secretly angry or disappointed but unwilling to share that with a friend? Satan is the father of lies and is willing and able to help you along that road. He did remind a hungry Jesus that He could turn stones into bread!

            John 5:39-40  “You search the Scriptures because you think they give you eternal life. But the Scriptures point to me! 40 Yet you refuse to come to me to receive this life.”

            Philippians 2:5  Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus. . .who gave up all He had and took the nature of a servant.

            Matthew 22:37  “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.”

            Rom. 12:2-3  Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.3 Because of the privilege and authority God has given me, I give each of you this warning: Don’t think you are better than you really are. Be honest in your evaluation of yourselves, measuring yourselves by the faith God has given us.

            1 Cor. 8:2-3  Those who think they know something really don’t know as they ought to know.3 But the person who loves God is known by him.

            1 Cor. 3:18-20  You should not fool yourself. If any of you think that you are wise by this world’s standards, you should become a fool, in order to be really wise.19 For what this world considers to be wisdom is nonsense in God’s sight. As the scripture says, God traps the wise in their cleverness (Job 5:13);20 and another scripture says, The Lord knows that the thoughts of the wise are worthless (Ps. 94:11).

            Eph. 3:13-21  So please don’t lose heart because of my trials here. I am suffering for you, so you should feel honored.14 When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father, 15 the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth.16 I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. 17 Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. 19 May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.20 Now all glory to God, who is able, through his mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think. 21 Glory to him in the church and in Christ Jesus through all generations forever and ever! Amen.

            The power of thought to bring wealth has been the subject of many best-selling books; Because there is truth in it. A kernel of truth that says you will walk in whatever you think. Therefore, we must “Fix our thoughts on what is true, honorable, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent and worthy of praise,” according to Philippians 4:8

Leave a Reply

