Are God and I Equal?

 

“Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth?” Job 38:4

We humans tend to be so full-of-ourselves at times. One moment we are describing our never-ending love for our Heavenly Father, proud to be saved and in awe of His many glorious works. And yet, at another time, we call into question God’s reasons for his actions. We actually say things such as, “Now why would God do that?”; “I have a problem with that verse in the Old Testament.”; “I don’t understand why Jesus would say that to her.”; “I know God is a God of love so why did Jesus make a whip and go back to the temple and throw tables over and beat people ?”; “My friend says the Bible does have some contradictions and we should be careful about believing every scripture.”

Do you find yourself secretly questioning God about difficult sections of the Bible? Wondering why He would say or do something that seems illogical or unreasonable to you? Have you ever wondered why God requires a certain obedience that seems contradictory to another section of the Bible and then find out your ideas came from a book you read, rather than the Bible?

Where does all this stuff come from anyway? Don’t forget, God created us and part of His creation was an active and questioning mind. Our creator is not put off by our questions but He is our creator. He did get a handful of dirt (the dirt He created) and breathe into it the life of man. And He followed this by reaching into that man’s body to remove a rib to create his partner: woman. How is that for amazing and mind-bending?

To stretch the ability of our human understanding we need look no further than the very acts of creation themselves. The Bible tells us that God created the heavens and the earth from a shapeless, chaotic mass. And then he created man, woman and animals; from His own imagination He formed everything that exists—everything. How can we question anything that God has said or done when He created the very brain cells that allow our questions? When did we become equal to God?

Job 38:4-11 “Where were you when I laid the foundations of the earth? Tell me, if you know so much. Do you know how its dimensions were determined, and who did the surveying? What supports its foundations, and who laid its cornerstone as the morning stars sang together and all the angels shouted for joy?

“Who decreed the boundaries of the seas when they gushed from the depths? Who clothed them with clouds and thick darkness and barred them by limiting their shores, and said, ‘Thus far and no farther shall you come, and here shall your proud waves stop?’

2 Timothy 3:16 The whole Bible was given to us by inspiration from God and is useful to teach us what is true and to make us realize what is wrong in our lives; it straightens us out and helps us do what is right.

Do I consider myself a Christian, a believer of Jesus Christ? Do I accept by faith that God sent His only Son to die on the cross for me so I can have forgiveness of my sins and spend eternity with God? If my answer is yes—it is imperative that I also accept by faith that the entire Bible was written by men of God with the inspiration of the Holy Spirit.

What about various translations? I’ve heard that some of them are questionable as to accuracy. If you enjoy Shakespearean English then the King James Bible would suit you. If you prefer something more modern then the New Living Translation might be a treat. And there are many others that differ slightly in language and grammar but if they point to Jesus Christ as the Son of God, the risen Lord, whose blood on the cross saved us from our sins then you will be safe to believe what you read.

Back to the original premise of this study, are we equal to God? The short answer is absolutely NO! We would be unable to tie our shoelaces without God’s creative touch.

Isaiah 45:6-12 I am Jehovah and there is no one else. I alone am God. I form the light and make the dark. I send good times and bad. I, Jehovah, am he who does these things. Open up, O heavens. Let the skies pour out their righteousness. Let salvation and righteousness sprout up together from the earth. I, Jehovah, created them.

Woe to the man who fights with his Creator. Does the pot argue with its maker? Does the clay dispute with him who forms it, saying, “Stop, you’re doing it wrong!” or the pot exclaim, “How clumsy can you be!”? Woe to the baby just being born who squalls to his father and mother, “Why have you produced me? Can’t you do anything right at all?”

Jehovah, the Holy One of Israel, Israel’s Creator, says: “What right have you to question what I do? Who are you to command me concerning the work of my hands? I have made the earth and created man upon it. With my hands I have stretched out the heavens and commanded all the vast myriads of stars.”

We are the pots and He is the creator. If we want Him to, He will banish all doubt and fear from our lives. Actually, He already has. It only remains for us to believe.

Leave a Reply

