God’s Antidote

 

IMG_2429

Weekly Bible Study

God’s Antidote

September 10, 2014

“My comfort in my suffering is this: Your promise preserves my life” Ps 119:50

When life brings circumstances beyond our control (and most actually are) we don’t always react in a Godly way. Sometimes fear and uncertainty take over, leading us away from God’s promises. Those feelings, although quite strong, must be brought into submission by our faith in God, whose promises will turn us away from fear and uncertainty.

Here is a partial list of feelings we all have that seem bigger than life. The antidote to these feelings is a strong dose of reading the promises of God daily!

Anxiety Phil 4:19 And my God will meet all your needs according to His glorious riches in Christ Jesus.

1 Peter 5:6-7 So, humble yourselves under God’s strong hand, and in his own good time he will lift you up. You can throw the whole weight of your anxieties upon him, for you are his personal concern.

Prov 12:25 An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up

Weakness 2 Cor 12:9 He said to me, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

Comfort Ps 91:2 This I declare about the Lord: He alone is my refuge, my place of safety; He is my God and I trust Him.

Death Ps 27:1 The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life, of whom shall I be afraid?

Blessings John 10:10 I have come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.

Fear 2 Tim 1:7 For God has not given us a spirit of fear; but of power, and of love and a sound mind.

His Love For You Rom 8:38-39 I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love. No power in the sky above or in the earth below—indeed, nothing in all creation will ever be able to separate us from the love of God that is revealed in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Worries Phil 4:6-7 Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.

Matt 6:34 Do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

1 Pet 5:6-7 If you will humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, in his good time he will lift you up. Let him have all your worries and cares, for he is always thinking about you and watching everything that concerns you.

Hope Romans 5:3-5 We can rejoice too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.

Anger Prov 15:1 A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.

Peace John 16:33 I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world.

Tired Isa 40:30-31 But they that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

Trials James 1:2-4 Dear brothers and sisters, when troubles come your way, consider it an opportunity for great joy. For you know that when your faith is tested, your endurance has a chance to grow. So let it grow, for when your endurance is fully developed, you will be perfect and complete, needing nothing.

Job 2:10 “When God sends us something good, we welcome it. How can we complain when he sends us trouble?” Even in all this suffering Job said nothing against God.

Weariness Matt 11:28-30 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.

Just as we learn math or English by studying textbooks, we also learn of our God and His promises that never fail by studying His book. More powerful than any textbook, the Bible is bathed in life-changing words of hope, infused with the Holy Spirit.

As life brings challenges and disappointments, His word will always give us guidance and comfort.

About David

A follower of Jesus Christ. Past retirement age. Have worked at: Camera Operator; Meter Reader; Tree Trimmer; Power LIneman; Portrait Photographer; Photo Journalist; Newspaper Reporter; Proof Reader/Editor; Online writer; Bible Study Leader.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Christianity, Devotional, faith, God, Jesus, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

