Who Am I?

Who Am I?

 

“To all who believed Him and accepted Him, He gave the right to become children of God.” ~John 1:12

Have you ever wondered about who you are? Why God made you the way you are? Do you consider yourself smart or not-so-smart? Perhaps you’ve been told by friends or family that you have limitations and shouldn’t expect too much of yourself. Have you heard remarks like, “I don’t think you should do that because you really have a hard time learning” or “You better stick with the job you have because you don’t know anything else.” “Of course your sister got the promotion, she isn’t like you, she always got good grades.”

As Christians we actually have specific assurances of who we are in the Bible. God thinks very highly of us and has carefully crafted each one of us into the person we are.

 

  • I am a child of God.

But to all who have received him–those who believe in his name–he has given the right to become God’s children … (John 1:12).

  • I am a branch of Jesus, the true vine.

I am the true vine and my Father is the gardener. I am the vine; you are the branches. The one who remains in me–and I in him–bears much fruit, because apart from me you can accomplish nothing (John 15:1, 5).

  • I am a friend of Jesus.

I no longer call you slaves, because the slave does not understand what his master is doing. But I have called you friends, because I have revealed to you everything I heard from my Father (John 15:15).

  • My belief gave me right-standing with God.

We are made right with God when we believe that Jesus shed His blood, sacrificing His life for us (Romans 3:25).

  • I have peace with God.

Therefore, since we have been made right in God’s sight by faith, we have peace with God because of what Jesus Christ our Lord has done for us (Romans 5:1)

  • I am no longer a slave to sin.

Our old sinful selves were crucified with Christ so that sin might lose its power in our lives (Romans 6:6).

  • I belong to Christ Jesus therefore I am not condemned.

So now there is no condemnation for those who belong to Christ Jesus. For the power of the life-giving Spirit has freed you through Christ Jesus from the power of sin that leads to death (Romans 8:1-2).

  • I will share God’s treasures with Jesus.

And since we are His children, we will share His treasures–for everything God gives to His Son, Christ, is ours, too (Romans 8:17).

  • I have been called by God and made holy.

To the church of God which is in Corinth, to all who are called to be God’s holy people, who belong to him in union with Christ Jesus, together with all people everywhere who worship our Lord Jesus Christ, their Lord and ours (1 Corinthians 1:2). 

  • I am acceptable, pure, and holy to God.

God alone made it possible for you to be in Christ Jesus. For our benefit God made Christ to be wisdom itself. He is the one who made us acceptable to God. He made us pure and holy, and He gave Himself to purchase our freedom. (1 Corinthians 1:30).

  • My body is a temple of the Holy Spirit.

Don’t you know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit, who lives in you and who was given to you by God? You do not belong to yourselves but to God (1 Corinthians 6:19).

  • I am joined together with Christ.

But if you give yourself to the Lord, you and Christ are joined together as one person. (1 Corinthians 6:17).

  • I am a new creature in Christ.

So then, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; what is old has passed away–look, what is new has come (2 Corinthians 5:17)!

  • I am righteous through Christ.

For God took the sinless Christ and poured into him our sins. Then, in exchange, he poured God’s goodness into us! (2 Corinthians 5:21).

  • I have been made one with all who are in Christ Jesus.

We are no longer Jews or Greeks or slaves or free men or even merely men or women, but we are all the same—we are Christians; we are one in Christ Jesus (Galatians 3:28).

  • I am His child and His heir.

Now you are no longer a slave but God’s own child.And since you are his child, God has made you his heir (Galatians 4:7).

  • I have been set free in Christ.

For freedom Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not be subject again to the yoke of slavery (Galatians 5:1).

  • I have been blessed with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places.

Blessed is the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms in Christ (Ephesians 1:3).

  • I am chosen, holy, and blameless before God.

For he chose us in Christ before the foundation of the world that we may be holy and unblemished in his sight in love (Ephesians 1:4).

  • I am redeemed and forgiven by the grace of Christ.

In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of his grace (Ephesians 1:7).

  • I have been predestined by God to obtain an inheritance.

In Christ we too have been claimed as God’s own possession, since we were predestined according to the one purpose of him who accomplishes all things according to the counsel of his will (Ephesians 1:11).

  • God identifies me as His own.

And when you believed in Christ, he identified you as his own by giving you the Holy Spirit, whom he promised long ago (Ephesians 1:13).

  • I am God’s workmanship created to produce good works.

For we are his workmanship, having been created in Christ Jesus for good works that God prepared beforehand so we may do them (Ephesians 2:10).

  • I am a member of Christ’s body and a partaker of His promise

The Gentiles are fellow heirs, fellow members of the body, and fellow partakers of the promise in Christ Jesus (Ephesians 3:6). (See also Ephesians 5:30.)

  • I have boldness and confident access to God through faith in Christ.

… In whom we have boldness and confident access to God because of Christ’s faithfulness (Ephesians 3:12).

  • My new self is righteous and holy.

… Put on the new man who has been created in God’s image–in righteousness and holiness that comes from truth (Ephesians 4:24).

  • I am a citizen of heaven.

But our citizenship is in heaven–and we also await a savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ … (Philippians 3:20).

  • The peace of God guards my heart and mind.

And the peace of God that surpasses all understanding will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:7).

  • God supplies all my needs.

And my God will supply your every need according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:19).

  • I have been made complete in Christ.

For the full content of divine nature lives in Christ, in his humanity, and you have been given full life in union with him. He is supreme over every spiritual ruler and authority. (Colossians 2:9-10).

  • I have been raised up with Christ.

Therefore, if you have been raised with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God (Colossians 3:1).

  • Christ is my life, and I will be revealed with Him in glory.

When Christ (who is your life) appears, then you too will be revealed in glory with him (Colossians 3:4).

 

Leave a Reply

