Book Review-Bible Commentary

Book Review

Christ-Centered Exposition Commentary; Ecclesiastes

September 13, 2016

Years ago, when I found faith in Jesus Christ, my father-in-law encouraged me to use, in addition to my Bible, a Bible commentary. I followed his advice and have found a commentary that adds greatly to my overall understanding of the Bible.

When B&H Publishing sent Christ-Centered Exposition Commentary; Ecclesiastes for me to read and review, I was delighted. What an excellent idea. However, for me, the commentary fell short of my enthusiasm.

What I found was a commentary aimed directly at a specific age-group rather than all Bible readers. The authors not only aim this commentary at a youthful audience, it is filled with quotes of mostly current authors and anecdotes to liven it up (I think).

Most seriously, I found little of the promised Christ-centered exposition in the pages of stories and quotes. For me, a Bible commentary must first of all, focus on the sections of the Bible, with an eye to explaining them. I found that lacking in the Christ-Centered Exposition Commentary; Ecclesiastes.

Finally, although this review is not encouraging, it is, after all, the opinion of one reviewer and may not prove accurate to other readers. In my experience, one man’s trash may be another’s treasure.

Leave a Reply

